This post may contain affiliate links, which means, I may earn a commission when you sign up or purchase through my links, at no added cost to you!
If you’re looking to get a driver’s license in the state of Florida, you need to pass the Florida learner’s permit test (also known as the Class E knowledge test).
In this post, I’ll be showing you the step-by-step process on how to prep for this test.
Requirements for taking the Learner’s Permit in Florida
In order to obtain your learner’s permit or license in the state of Florida, you need to meet the flowing requirements:
- Be at least 15 years old
- Complete the 4-hour drug and alcohol course
- Pass the vision and hearing tests
- Provide the necessary documents to take the learner’s permit test
- Pass the learner’s permit test
Can you get your permit at 14 in Florida?
You can’t but you can start taking the drugs, alcohol, and traffic awareness course (DATA). In some sources, they say you can take the permit test once you’re 14 and 1/2 years old.
Where can you take the DATA course?
All first-time Florida drivers are required to take the DATA course. It’s a 4-hour course that covers traffic laws, the effects of substance (alcohol and drugs) use in driving, and other important topics for first-time drivers.
There are several providers for this course. There are those that are classroom-based while there are also those that are purely online (some offer both options). Just make sure that the provider is approved by Florida Department of Highway Safety and Motor Vehicles (FLHSMV).
Here’s a full list of FLHSMV-approved providers.
I took mine through Safe2Drive. It’s an online DATA course so you can take it using a laptop, tablet, smartphone, or any device as long as you have internet connection.
It’s $21.95 for the course and that includes the process of forwarding your completion receipt to FLHSMV (some providers require you to pay separately for it).
It’s about 10 chapters all in all and it’s very easy to understand. Safe2Drive provides several videos, illustrations, and games to help you understand the wide range of concepts.
It’s important to note that you have to take this course for 4 hours. Even if you’re a fast learner, you have to complete it for the given time frame.
At the end of the course, there’s a multiple-choice test to check on your comprehension. Once you pass it, you’ll be provided with a completion receipt and the provider will forward it to FLHSMV.
You can check out Safe2Drive’s DATA course here.
Good to know: DATA and TLSAE (Traffic Law and Substance Abuse Education) course are just the same.
Do you need to have naturally good vision and hearing to pass the vision and hearing tests?
No, you don’t. If you have vision and/or hearing problems, you can wear your glasses, contacts, or hearing aid to pass the test.
If you fail the test with your existing corrective lenses or hearing aid, you can re-take it using a different hearing aid or lenses.
If you pass the test while using a hearing aid or corrective lenses, it will be noted on your license. To keep you and the people around you safe while you’re driving, it’s important that you wear them when you’re driving.
This test is done right before you take the learner’s permit test.
What to bring to the DMV for the learner’s permit in Florida?
You are required to bring the following to take the learner’s permit test:
- Proof of identification
- U.S. passport
- Original birth certificate or state-issued certified copy of your birth certificate
Note: If you’re a non-U.S. citizen but a U.S. permanent resident or green card holder, you can bring your passport from your country of origin, your green card and other supporting documents.
- Proof of Social Security
- Social Security card or W-2 tax form showing your Social Security Number (SSN)
- Two (2) proof of residential address
- Bills in your name
- Bank statement
- School transcript reflecting your residential address
If you can only provide one (1) proof of residential address: fill out this Certification of Address form so the second proof can be in the name of the person you’re living with – spouse, parents, legal guardian, etc.
If you are under 18:
- Signed FLHSMV parental consent form (must be signed by your parent or legal guardian in front of your examiner or notary public)
If you’re taking the learner’s permit test online:
- FLHSMV parent proctoring form signed by your parent or legal guardian in front of your examiner or notary public
Learner’s Permit Test in Florida If You’re Over 18
The first three requirements are the same (proof of identification, social security, and residential address).
You don’t need the parental or legal guardian consent form and the proctoring form as you’ll have to take it at your nearest DMV.
Florida Learner’s Permit Study Guide
The Class E knowledge exam covers a wide variety of topics. These topics are covered in the Official Florida Driver’s License Handbook. You can download the handbook here.
Some of these topics include:
- Seatbelt laws
- Speed limits
- Making turns
- Insurance requirements
- Fines for a traffic violation
- Road signs and symbols
While you don’t have to memorize everything that’s written in the handbook, it’s important to understand the topics to keep you and the people around you safe while you’re driving. It can also help you avoid getting traffic tickets.
Florida Learner’s Permit Practice Test
You already read the handbook and tried to understand the concepts but you still feel anxious, not knowing how the test will go.
I get you. I’ve been in your shoes before. What really helped me is taking a set of Florida learner’s permit practice test everyday.
One app I can highly recommend is DMV Genie.
Available for both Android and iOS users, DMV Genie can provide you an idea on what the actual test would be like.
There are several sets of multiple-choice questions, ranging from Easy to Difficult. The free version of the app only limits you to a certain number of sets but is still useful.
If your answer is wrong, the app provides the correct answer and justification (a way to reinforce learning!).
There’s a Challenge Bank, a section where your incorrectly answered questions are saved. I find this very useful as I keep on making the same mistakes on some questions.
What You Can Expect on the Day of the Test
- You will be submitting the requirements.
- You will take the vision and hearing tests.
- You will be assigned to a computer where you’ll take the test. To pass the test, you have to answer correctly 40 out of 50 questions.
- You’ll pay the learner’s permit test fee of $48.
- If you pass, you’ll get your learner’s license/permit card right there and then. If you don’t, you can retake your test whenever you’re ready. There is, however, a retake test fee of $10 and you need to schedule an appointment.
If you have more questions, feel free to drop them in the comment section below!
Best of luck to you 🙂